Critic Kate Copstick attacked in Kenya

I have received a reaction to yesterday’s blog, in which I wrote about the frustration of trying to enter a London Evening Standard competition to take a flight into space, about a woman standing next to a Post Office pillar box, about comedian Bob Slayer in his underpants and about an excellent performance in London by Red Bastard, the talk of the recent Edinburgh Fringe.

Today, I am off to Leamington Spa for one of the occasional ‘Auction of Horrors’ run at The Old Elephant House in that most refined of towns. On the auction list today are 367 items including an animatronic alley cat, a vampire killing kit, a painting of the Kray Twins, letters from the Titanic, a human kneebone walking stick and Wasp Boy’s swallowed sword from the Circus of Horrors. The Old Elephant House bills itself as, among other things, “exclusive sellers of stage-used Circus of Horrors props, costumes and memorabilia”.

Circus of Horrors poster in the auction

A very non-PC Circus of Horrors poster – It is in the auction

Fantasy and quirkiness are entertaining.

I have to leave early to drive up to Leamington Spa which leaves little time to write this blog.

Fortunately, a message arrived from Kenya which I think is worth printing.

It was from comedy critic Kate Copstick, who oft-times pops up in this blog and who runs a Kenyan charity called Mama Biashara. As well as health care projects, Mama Biashara helps poor people (especially women) set up their own small businesses which may give them a lift to a better life. Copstick spends a large percentage of her time (unpaid) working for the charity in London and Kenya, where she has been for the past few weeks.

Mama Biashara’s Kate Copstick

Critic Kate Copstick in Kenya

The message from Copstick is complimentary. Normally that would preclude it from appearing. But what she says is:

Thank you for the blogs. They are keeping me sane here. Been robbed while I slept by a thief who hid in the house where I was staying, had to flee armed robbers waiting outside a workshop to get me, had mothers with sick children being threatened that of they let the Mzungu (white person) help them there will be ‘consequences’ and last night I was gang mugged by about 15 young guys while an entire traffic jam of people looked on. Not my best visit. Will tell all exclusively to you as soon as I stop having flashbacks.

This perhaps puts my jolly trip to Leamington Spa today for the ‘Auction of Horrors’ into a more realistic perspective of inconsequential superficiality.

7 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Kenya, Movies

7 responses to “Critic Kate Copstick attacked in Kenya

  1. anna smith

    Tell her to come home !

  2. What is left of me is arriving back on Wednesday morning at silly o’clock. It has been – to be honest – quite a trip this time. On the bright side, the gang attack has sorted out my mild constipation and in many other circumstances having fifteen or so young, fit black guys piling in on top of me could have been quite fun. The guns were scary but I wasn’t shot – so all good there. And given that I somehow channelled my inner Xena while lying on the ground with a big blokes knee in my chest and kicked like a bastard, the fifteen boys got a)my house keys b) a NOkia phone worth £10 c) a lot of reciepts for deworming syrup and absolutely NOTHING else. This sort of thing never happened to MOther fucking Theresa !

  3. alice

    Maybe she implied that she would give the locals her goods and then changed her mind at the last moment.

  4. Had I done so, Alice, I would not have described it as a mugging

Leave a Reply

