Two more memories of eccentric aircraft impersonator Chris Luby

As a result of my two previous blogs about Chris, who died last weekend, I have had a couple of other memories of him.

Chris Luby R.I.P

Chris Luby R.I.P

Comedy performer Adam Wide remembers:

Chris was such a one-off. Delightful and indefatigably barking… I used him SO often on corporate gigs, dressing him in many guises to pierce through the stuffy boardroom atmosphere… he never failed.

My favourite visual image was when we were organising a treasure hunt for a computer firm all over the village of Beaulieu and its environs and Chris was dressed as a RAF pilot (with a sound system) at a bus-stop doing the full Battle of Britain whilst apparently waiting for the 617 Spitfire to come along.

And I have also received this message from John Hawes:

I was 13 years old when I met Chris Luby. He was a cadet and I was treated to the first of many of Chris’ famous shows.

That was in 1979.

I haven’t seen him in 25 years and it brings a tear to my eye knowing he has been entertaining people over the years and to read the wonderful stories of Chris and his adventures. He was a special man and will be missed.

1 Comment

Filed under Comedy

One response to “Two more memories of eccentric aircraft impersonator Chris Luby

  1. Comedian Chris Luby’s funeral is being held at 1.45pm on the 4th of February 2014 at Honor Oak Crematorium, 19 Brockley Mews, Brockley Way, London SE4 2LJ… Afterwards, meet at the Wibbley Wobbley floating pub, Rope St, London SE16 7SZ…

Leave a Reply

