What I thought of the poem by The Sun newspaper’s transvestite this morning

Front page of today’s Sun newspaper

Front page of today’s Sun newspaper

This blog is entirely true. I have not made it up.

I woke up in the early hours of this morning thinking that I would blog today about the Sun’s equality initiative. The British tabloid newspaper has started to take on interns for weekly periods. In particular, I was going to write about the transvestite intern whom the Sun has employed to write a poem in the last week.

Then I thought: Did I dream this? Am I awake?

I never remember my dreams. Well, almost never. Perhaps once every six or eight months. Only when I have been woken out of a deep sleep by something very specific. That had not happened in this case. I actually was awake. And I hadn’t dreamt it.

Then I went back to sleep.

I woke up a few hours later and thought I had dreamed it. But I was not sure.

Then I went back to sleep.

Now I think I dreamt it.

Two nights ago, I was at the National Film Theatre for a screening of the 1982 film Koyaanisqatsi.

The film has no words, no narrative and is purely a collection of images cut to music by Philip Glass, a composer whose agent once sent me an e-mail saying he might be interested in writing music for the film Killer Bitch.

That is true.

Grayson Perry not wearing a pink dress

Grayson Perry wearing neither a pink dress nor boots

Koyaanisqatsi was introduced at the NFT by the artist Grayson Perry.

He wore a sticky-outy starched pink dress and medium-length pink boots. That is true.

Reality is a strange thing.

I have always wished I could remember my dreams more often.

There is a trailer for Koyaanisqatsi on YouTube.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dreams, Surreal

Leave a Reply

