After yesterday’s blog, what people’s actual perception of me is… maybe

Robert Burns wrote:

O wad some Pow’r the giftie gie us
To see oursels as ithers see us!
It wad frae mony a blunder free us,
An’ foolish notion:
What airs in dress an’ gait wad lea’e us,
An’ ev’n devotion!

which Wikipedia currently translates as:

And would some Power the small gift give us
To see ourselves as others see us!
It would from many a blunder free us,
And foolish notion:
What airs in dress and gait would leave us,
And even devotion!

"Ever drifting down the stream. Lingering in the golden gleam..." (by Lewis Carroll - Photograph by M-E-U-N-F)

Always retain your dignity (Photograph by M-E-U-N-F)

I have been thinking for a few weeks that an interesting blog might be for my friend Lynn, who has known me for 40 years this year, to ‘interview’ me and to criticise me as much as she can (she knows all there is to criticise) and then see if I could answer any of her criticisms.

In the meantime, here is a strand (which is in the public domain – I checked) from Facebook (complete at the time of posting this blog).

It is interesting in that it presumably gives some idea of people’s perception of me.

Look – if you have a blog, narcissism comes with the territory.

The strand was started yesterday afternoon when my Facebook Friend Michael Legge posted the question “What is John Fleming?” on his Facebook page.

Michael Legge
What is John Fleming?

Neil Masters
He has a blog about comedy I believe…

Michael Legge
Is that it?

Giacinto Palmieri
And the founder of the Malcolm Hardee Awards. But I guess John Fleming can speak for himself.

Neil Masters
Before I got wind of his blog I had never heard of him. I know he is also a frequent visitor to North Korea.

Corry Shaw
He’s a big Copstick fan

Michael Legge
Ah. Well, he sounds lovely then.

Giacinto Palmieri
Gosh, people designing frontlines already…

Neil Masters
Ask Lewis Schaffer

Liam Mullone
Blah blah Malcolm Hardee blah blah doyenne of the Fringe blah blah the good old days blah blah real anarchists not like today blah blah Copstick blah blah police oppression blah blah repeat.

Michael Legge
That’s him.

Ronan Quinn
What’s a Copstick?

Peter Clack
A sinus Doctor?

Gari MacColl
A truncheon.

Kev Sutherland
Isn’t it that thing where you put clingfilm over a toilet seat?

Kev Sutherland
(Sorry I was answering the question at the top of the thread. A Copstick is of course police glue)

Simon Donald
He’s an Edinburgh thing. Of some sort.

Matt Whitby
John trying to clear his throat?

John Robins
If you find out do let me know in the pub, tonight, 9.30

Doug Segal
He’s very nice. He writes a daily blog. Used to book alternative acts on the telly in the 80’s.

Michael Legge
Ah, ok. I knew he must have done something else. He’s a prick about The Stand and he seemingly stands by Copstick’s rape apologist stance so I’m not sure I’ll find him that nice. But I was interested to know what his background was.

André Vincent
He wouldn’t have been anything if Malcolm hadn’t died.

Pope Lonergan
He also had something to do with Tiswas. And briefly managed Sadowitz.

Pope Lonergan
John is actually a lovely bloke (a bit fuddy-duddy and “UK Gold” but I’m saying that from the perspective of a 25 year old). Still, I found it troubling that he didn’t take Copstick to task when she used rape to strengthen her I-Say-It-As-I-See-It and I-Won’t-Change-For-No-One stance.

Michael Legge
That’s my problem with him too, Pope.

Pope Lonergan
All I can take away from that is a) he was keeping quiet out of loyalty to her, or b) he agreed with her.

Michael Legge
Either way, not good.

Caimh McDonnell
Who did Copstick rape?

Pope Lonergan
John Fleming.

(JUST FOR ACCURACY, I SHOULD PERHAPS POINT OUT THAT I HAVE NEVER MANAGED THE ADMIRABLE JERRY SADOWITZ AND THAT, SO FAR, I HAVE NEVER BEEN RAPED BY COMEDY CRITIC KATE COPSTICK)

Leave a comment

Filed under Psychology

Leave a Reply

