Remembrance of blogs past – More penis hammering and political nudity

A week ago, I posted a blog in which comic Louise Reay remembered an early gig in which a member of the audience got up and asked: “If I hammer a nail into my penis, can I get free entry to this club night for the rest of the year?” He was told: “Yeah! Sure!” So he hammered a nail into his penis – twice.

Comedian Erich McElroy now tells me: “I was there that night of the nailing – I was actually the act after the first attempt at nailing. The irony is that he did it to get free tickets, but it was a free entry show.”

A couple of days ago, I included in my blog a YouTube clip of comedian Malcolm Hardee standing in the 1992 UK General Election.

On Facebook, Mike Croft posted:

“I remember this day well because Malcolm suckered me into signing his candidacy application which made me his seconder/guarantor. I was a DJ at his club at the time. I glibly signed in the Up The Creek (comedy club) office and thought nothing further about it until election night when, as guarantor, I was expected to attend Woolwich Town Hall and oversee the vote count.

“I thought it would take half an hour or so but it took ALL BLOODY NIGHT! It didn’t help that I was a little (ahem) chemically altered and I was horrified realising that my role was seen as rather serious (and I was off my thruppennies).

“What this clip does not show is the frantic couple of minutes before the cameras went live to the nation for the count, when Jane (Malcolm’s wife) spotted that he had stripped naked and was lurking in the wings to take his butt nekkid place on the grand staircase of the Town Hall as the nation watched. We wrestled him to the ground and into his clothes JUST in time.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Comedy, Eccentrics, Humor, Humour, Politics

Leave a Reply

