Terry Wogan, James Bond, Superman and The Short Man With Long Socks

Terry Wogan and Jo Burke

Terry Wogan and performer Jo Burke at yesterday’s launch

Yesterday afternoon, I went to the book launch for Terry Wogan’s first novel Those Were the Days.

In passing, he mentioned that, at one point, he had been considered for the part of James Bond. But producer Cubby Broccoli thought his ears were too big and chose Roger Moore instead.

I took this as a joke, but one never can tell.

Terry Wogan novel

Terry Wogan’s first novel – autobiographical?

I seem to remember that movie producers the Salkinds seriously considered the younger Salkind’s wife’s dentist for the role of Superman and screen-tested him at least twice.

Yesterday evening, I went to see the Comedy International Showcase at the Pleasance in Islington. Full of interesting acts and not just on stage.

In the audience, I bumped into The Short Man With Long Socks, who had come specifically to see the always excellent Men in Coats. I half expected to find a whole row of clothes-related acts.

Men in Coats

Men in Coats were seen by The Short Man With Long Socks

I have never seen The Short Man With Long Socks perform – few people in the UK have. I have only heard of his act by repute from the late Malcolm Hardee and Martin Soan (both non-clothes-related acts) who talked about him in an October 2013 blog.

“Are you doing any London shows at some point?” I asked The Short Man With Long Socks.

“Well,” he said. “I… Well…”

Short Man with Long Socks

This appeared in my cyber In-Box this morning

“Could you send me a picture of you performing?” I asked.

“Well,” he said. “Well…”

“Here’s my e-mail,” I said.

“Well…” he said.

I thought: Well, I’ll never hear from him again… and don’t try talking to mime acts.

But, this morning, I got an e-mail picture of a sock.

Well, it’s a start.

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Comedy, Movies

One response to “Terry Wogan, James Bond, Superman and The Short Man With Long Socks

  1. Owen Morgan

    Good old Wogan- you must be glad to have met him before he passed away. Glad that he got his novel out before he died- I think the James Bond thing was probably a joke, smacks of Irish humour, although having said that, Cubby Broccoli WAS desperate for a good Bond actor before Roger Moore came along- after Sean Connelly’s departure, the likes of George Lazenby just didn’t quite make the grade.
    Mime artists are never very articulate, that’s why they mime, although the late Marcel Marceau was an exception.

Leave a Reply

